Skip links

Damon Locks & Rob Mazurek – New Future City Radio (LP)

27.00 30.00  inc. VAT
22.95 25.50  inc. VAT

New Future City Radio is the first duo collaboration of longtime creative partners Damon Locks & Rob Mazurek. In a hyperactive 40-minute, 18-track suite that runs like a boombox mixtape, the two prolific multi-media artists contemplate community, transformation, and the future through the programmatic format of a pirate radio station for the people.

These two artists have worked together from the peak days of the late 90s / early 00s Chicago music scene up through the present day, which has seen Locks featured as lead vocalist of multiple critically-acclaimed Exploding Star Orchestra (ESO) albums composed/produced by Mazurek and released by International Anthem (IARC) in 2020 (Dimensional Stardust) and 2023 (Lightning Dreamers). In recent years, Locks has also earned great renown from his revolutionary, expansive latter-day gospel/jazz project Black Monument Ensemble (BME), with which he’s released two albums on IARC (2019’s Where Future Unfolds and 2021’s NOW). New Future City Radio finds the artists creating a natural but innovatively-assembled blend of the sounds of those two projects, with Locks’s BME-style sample-based sound collage creating compositional beds underneath the signature Orson Welles-like vocal delivery he’s developed through his work with ESO, alongside Roland SP flourishes and arresting brass improvisations by Mazurek.

Themes both sonic and text based were predetermined but improvisation leads the journey. The music these two have devised may sound overtly bombastic one moment and gently transportive the next, and often somewhere in between. When asked about New Future City Radio the duo exclaim in one voice: “I’m talking post, post, post, future. I’m talking resilience and levitation. I’m talking beauty and structural integrity for my people. I’m talking light beams that tell stories and educate. Let’s talk about that if you wanna talk new future!”


1. 5-4-3-2-1
2. Yes!
3. The Sun Returns
4. Breeze Of Time
5. Your Name Gonna Ring The Bell
6. New Future
7. Droids!
8. The Concord Hour
9. Future City
10. 10mins Past The Hour
11. Support The Youth (With Sound)
12. The Beat
13. Las Niñas Estan Escuchando (The Children Are Listening)
14. Flitting Splits Reverb Adage
15. Twilight Shimmer
16. Suspense In The Grip Of Suspense
17. Polaris Radio
18. Drop


Jazz, Nu-Jazz/Contemporary Jazz

Weight N/A


Catalogue Number: IARC0068LP SKU: CR04802

Additional information

Weight N/A